History of HSRI

Health Systems Research Institute (HSRI) was established by the Health Systems Research Institute Act of 1992. It is an autonomous state agency established at about the same period as the Thailand Research Fund (TRF) and the National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA).

HSRI’s organizational and management architecture was designed to allow the institute more flexibility to function in the ever-evolving economic, social and political environment. Working in partnership with multilevel public and private agencies, HSRI’s main goal is to achieve effective knowledge management in the service of the Health System.

The Executive Board, chaired by the Ministry of Public Health, provides guidance and direction for HSRI’s strategic plans and performance. It consists of nine permanent members and seven senior experts, as follows:

Permanent members

  • Minister of Public Health (Chairperson)
  • Permanent Secretary for Public Health (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Permanent Secretary for Agriculture and Cooperative
  • Permanent Secretary for Education
  • Permanent Secretary for Science and Technology
  • Permanent Secretary for Industry
  • Secretary-General of Commission on Higher Education
  • Secretary-General of the National Research Council
  • Secretary-General of the National Economic and Social Development Board
  • Executive Director,  Health Systems Research Institute (Secretariat)

Senior Experts

  • Assoc Prof Dr. Wipada Kunaviktikul   
  • Assoc Prof Dr. Churnrurtai Kanchanachitra
  • Dr. Suwit Wibulpolprasert
  • Dr. Supakit Sirilak
  • Dr. Supakorn Buasai
  • Mr. Chamnan Pichedpan
  • Prof Dr. Pisake Lumbiganon